Skip to content

Protest Outside The Daily Mail – Stop the Defamation – Stop the Lies

April 11, 2011

Thursday, April 14 · 2:00pm – 5:00pm

Daily Mail Headquarters, Young Street (off Kensington High Street), London W8 5TT

As part of the third National Day of Action Against Benefit Cuts a protest has been called outside the Daily Mail’s head office in Kensington on 14th April 2011.

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=161556473898500

The Daily Mail has a long history of abusing and defaming benefit claimants. Lurid headlines have dishonestly claimed that disabled people, people on sickness benefits, single parents and the unemployed are workshy, scroungers or even fraudsters. Hate filled rants by Daily Mail columnists have spewed out propaganda about the most vulnerable in society, which have been used by politicians of all major parties to launch an attack on the Welfare State.

Discredited Atos test results have been twisted to claim that two million people claiming sickness benefits are ‘cheats’.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1220211/Just-incapacity-benefit-claimants-genuine-tough-new-test-reveals-TWO-MILLION-cheating.html

Join us outside the Daily Mail’s Kensington headquarters to demand no more lies and no more defamation of disabled people, people with illnesses, parents, the low waged, the unemployed, carers and volunteers who are all set to face devastating cutbacks in the already meagre state support they receive.

Bring musical instruments, megaphones, banners, placards and come prepared to tell the truth as loudly as possible to the faceless hacks who write this poisonous garbage.

The protest will begin at 2pm. Nearest tube is Kensington High Street (not accessible sadly), which is also well served by bus routes.

At 5pm a protest is also being held outside Westminster City Hall to protest at the Housing Benefit caps as well as the ban on rough sleeping and food distribution in parts of the borough. This is a short bus or tube ride from the Daily Mail HQ. Details at the link below: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=186039361439862

Details of events around the country can be found at: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=164277070288955&index=1

6 Comments leave one →
  1. SHAWNEENA LAKER permalink
    March 22, 2011 8:59 pm

    I am very sick with a muscle wasting disease and in terrible pain.I am not a scrounger and have never been one.My housing benefit is going to be cut by £16.49 a week.So i will have to make my rent of £500 by £176.92 which i cannot do.So i am franticlly trying to find a bungalow below £500. I get so scared at what is going to happen next in this so called country that is supposed to look after us.I am fed up of everyone thinking being on benefits is wrong, sometimes in life you cannot help it.I worked hard when i could and never expected anything of anyone.I don’t know what i am going to do.Started to get my partner to pack.I feel like turning my back on everything and just live in a wood away from everything and everyone.People in this country try to protest but it does’nt do any good.

  2. Jane permalink
    April 4, 2011 11:43 pm

    I am on incapacity and I am more than capable of working.
    The problem is because I’m disabled employers think I’m incapable, even the job centre deemed me ‘mentally incapable’ of anything but check-out work before kicking me onto ESA, and because of media like The Daily Mail employers also deem me lazy as I’m unemployed. All I want to do is work, I work for free just to give me some sense of purpose – that doesn’t make me a lazy scrounger!

    I didn’t choose to be disabled, and I certainly didn’t choose to be unemployed – I live on £45 per week, I’ll be living with debt and bad credit for years, thanks to unemployment my life and careers is on hold, and this will have an effect on my children…that’s even before discussing the physical, emotional and mental impact unemployment has on me as a person. Does The Daily Mail (and other media, politicians, etc.) really believe that this is preferable to employment, REALLY?!

    Government, and wider society, makes it difficult for many of us to work, the benefits system actually excludes many people based on their disabilities, and there is little or no support for most of us to help us back into work. The whole system believes us all to be lazy despite the fact most of us currently on benefits are here because of the economy and prejudices of employers – it could have hit any of us. Media like The Daily Mail make it more difficult for us to get back into work.

  3. April 11, 2011 6:23 pm

    Curiously, on the 11 February the British equivalent of Der Sturmer revised their headline after three-and-a-half hours and 1.8m (alleged) fit for work jumped to “nearly 2 MILLION”. I’ve heard of runaway inflation but this is ridiculous. Screenshots: http://loanranger.no-ip.org/forum/bb/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=76#p84

    Chris Grayling’s influence and comments in the DWP press releases seem to be the fuel for the Daily Hate’s fire: http://loanranger.no-ip.org/forum/bb/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=42#p45

  4. John Potter permalink
    April 14, 2011 11:35 am

    I totally agree with you, but realise that every time you link to a mail article you’re helping to increase their page visits, which makes them feel more popular as it’s how they judge their success. I know you kind of need to, but thought it worth pointing out!

Trackbacks

  1. Take part in the Day of action – 14 April : London Coalition Against Poverty
  2. Added: Islington protest 14 April 8.30-9.30am » DPAC

Leave a Reply

